top of page

Twenty One Pilots concert and M&G

March 5th was probably the best day of my life. Ever.

Not only did Soman Chainani's new book in the school for good and evil series come out, A crystal of time, but I got to meet my idols and go to their concert. You wouldn't think the day could get any better but it was also pancake day!

My day started out at 7:00 am which I wasn't too impressed with but me and my sisters wanted to be the first in the que for the signing so we could finish early and get to the concert que faster. At less that was the plan.

Queuing for the signing was supposed to start at 10 and by the time we'd stopped off at McDonald's for a pancake breakfast and got the bus into Manchester it was about that time. When we got to H&V they told us we had to wait and the we weren't allowed to start forming a que until 10:45 so we waited around for a while and went back when we saw some of the other banditos stood outside the store.


Finally they came out and told us that it'd been moved back by the band and we would have to wait till 1:30 pm and that we had a choice of waiting in the store for hours or coming back. We waited. We stood in a que for 3 hours. We were told that we couldn't sit on the floor by the staff as not to make the place look untidy so we stood the whole time. I was already so nervous for meeting Tyler and Josh that I couldn't stand still and could feel my pancakes and syrup threatening to rise into my throat.

Finally, after what felt like an entire lifetime of waiting they came out of the small door and sat down at the table. The crowd of fans creating a sea of yellow duct tape erupted into cheers at the boys. I erupted into a fit of tears. And not cute 'I'm so happy' tears either it was gross hyperventilating crying that makes you feel so embarrassed you want to die. Now imagine that while meeting the two people you wanted more than anything in the world to meet. It created an unholy combination and I could barely manage a 'thank you for making amazing music' before moving away from the table, my hand over my face trying to cover up the sobbing mess.

We went straight from the signing to the arena and got lead on a wild goose chase with about 20 other banditos to find the entrance we were supposed to be at. We came to an underground tunnel we were so sure couldn't be the right place but apparently it was and came out in a car park where about 500 fans were already waiting in a set up similar to one in Shrek where he goes through the barrier.

People had blankets and pizza and were all camped out on the floor snaking around the barriers. We sat down on the cold concrete floor and waited again. It doesn't seem that bad does it? At least we were allowed to sit down here but let me tell you it wasn't all fun and games. It was freezing and dusty and we had to keep standing up and shuffling closer and closer together to let more people in so we were basically sat on top of each other and all the rubbish that people had left when moving along. So not all fun and games for us.

At half 6 everyone stood up and they allowed the first people to the metal detectors. More waiting. We were allowed through the metal detectors in small bursts every 10 minutes and it seemed like forever before we were at the front of the que. When we collected our belongings out of the plastic trays we ran up the ram to another set of doors and you guesses it- more waiting.

They finally opened the doors and started to check tickets to get into the arena but the waiting didn't stop there we had to wait outside another set of doors before being given a wrist band and guided down the arena steps to the pit. They tell you not to run but as soon as they move out-of-the-way at the bottom of the stairs your adrenaline kicks in and you can't help running as fast as you can to the standing area to get a good spot. Which we did! we were on the second row, right next to the barrier but off to the left which was amazing and I couldn't have asked for a better spot.

The lights went off at 20 past 7 and the support came on the stage, they pumped up the crowd before what we'd all really been waiting for happened. Twenty one pilots came on at 8 and the entire show was amazing from beginning to end.


All the stunts were mind-blowing to see in person and I almost couldn't believe that it was really happening in front of my eyes. The set list was truly perfect and I couldn't have come up with a better selection of songs myself. The visuals were to die for and I just wish I could get it all to watch over and over. Of course Trees was the finale and it was even better than I could have ever imagined.

This was my first time in the pit in the arena and I was with the nicest people ever they were all so enthusiastic and we were all jumping up and down and singing along together. It was the exact dynamic I hoped for and my reason for choosing to be in the pit. We were handed out lots of water from the security and I couldn't appreciate it more, my throat was so dry from screaming that I don't know how I made it out with my voice in tact.

Overall it was probably the most emotional I've ever been and definitely the best day of my life thus far but I can't imagine anything that's ever going to top this. If you haven't already I highly suggest that you see them live if you ever get a chance its an opportunity you wont want to pass up especially if you're a big fan like me.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page