top of page

June wrap-up

June was the height of my exams so it wasn't as productive as I would have liked but they're over now and I'm able to get back to my goals. Once my exams were over, towards the end of the month I was able to play catch up on films, tv and books and managed to get some done but not as much as I would have liked.


Book wrap up:

I managed to read 5 books this month which sets me on track for my goal and gets me up to the point where I need to be at the half-year mark to reach my goal in the second half.

  • The Raven King and the king's men (the last 2 books in the all for the game series) by Nora Sakavic as rereads.

  • Twisted fate by Dana Miller as a review copy sent by the author (reviewed here)

  • Fairy boys by Daniel Tawse as a review copy sent by the author (reviewed here)

  • Carry on by Rainbow Rowell as a reread (reviewed here)

As you all probably already know, June was pride month and I couldn't be happier that all my reads had LGBTQI+ themes and characters as it's important to me that I read diverse books. For the last 2 weeks of the month I was hosting a readathon on #bookstagram and wouldn't have been able to reach my goal without it. With these five books added to my GoodReads goal I'm at 26/52 which is exactly half way to my goal.


Film & Tv wrap up:

I only manged to watch 6 films this month which is a huge downgrade from the last few months and I wish it could have been higher. Although this is true my focus was more on Television shows and I managed to watch 5 series this month.

Films:

  • Dark Phoenix (New release)

  • Man in black (New release)

  • Good Sam (New release and Netflix original) reviewed here

  • Call me by your name

  • Unicorn store (Netflix original)

  • Toy story 4 (New release) reviewed here

Tv shows:

  • Gotham

  • The society (New release and Netflix original) Review coming soon!

  • Quicksand (New release and Netflix original) Review coming soon!

  • Insatiable (Netflix original) in preparation for season 2 which comes out soon

  • Brooklyn Nine-nine

Music shout outs

June releases:

  • Noah Kahan's new album 'Busyhead' finally came out June 14th

  • Bastille's new album 'Doom Days' also came out June 14th

  • X Ambassadors new album Orion came out June 14th too

  • Alec Benjamin released a new song 'Must have been the wind'

  • Set it off brought out a new music video for hourglass (reviewed here)

  • Sleeping with sirens brought out a new song and video (reviewed here)

Artists I found in June:

  • I knew about Yungblud before June but hadn't really listened to him properly until I watched his newly released video for 'parents' (which I adore) and now I can't get enough of him.

  • I also started listening to piano music this month and found Thomas Kruger on YouTube who does some amazing piano videos and covers, I honestly can't get enough.

  • Ren and Sam Tompkins on YouTube have also become a new obsession of mine.

Song recommendations (songs I've played on repeat in June):

  • Freya Ridings - 'Castles'

  • Dreams we've had - 'Perfectly out of place'

  • Thomas Greenberg - 'The right path'

It wasn't really a good month for me but hopefully July will be better. This is what I was up to and some of my favourites from June. What were your favourites? Let me know :)

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page