top of page

Twisted fate book review

Twisted fate by Dana Miller is a contemporary romance following Laina Jorden who has given up on love after her childhood sweetheart, Jared moved away leaving her broken-hearted. She must fight to regain control of her fate after meeting her boyfriend, Masons family in the Bahamas and realising that she is attending her old flames wedding.


For me this was an easy-going fun read that I could get lost in wondering what was going to happen next and what Laina was going to do about her growing problems including her friends, family, failing bookstore and relationships. It was well paced and quick to get through, it didn't feel like it dragged at all while also not feeling like it went too fast which I appreciate as it's not often done well.


Laina was presented as a well-rounded character with her fair share of baggage which got unpacked throughout the book and helped me to understand her motives and her actions. By the end of the book I was 100% satisfied with her development as a character and thought that she was written extremely well.


Her best friend and roommate, Preston added humour and an extra level to the story as we also followed his relationship throughout the narrative. He was gay which I appreciate in a casual setting like this as the story wasn't surrounding his sexuality which I believe normalizes relationships like this and takes a step in the right direction, especially in pride month when I read this. Liv, Jared's wife was such a sweetheart and I found the same difficulties in hating her that Laina expressed. I thought it was refreshing that she was presented in this way as usually in these types of narratives they are negatively represented.


As for Jared himself he was such a gentleman and the most perfect love interest that I could have possible asked for. His relationship with Laina was so cute I found myself getting all fuzzy when they were together. Especially when she'd been struggling with snoring through the whole beginning of the book and he said 'I think your snoring acutely lulled me to sleep' I honestly died right there and then.


The dialogue was so natural and realistic that it was so easy to follow and I could imagine the characters acutely saying it throughout with accents and colloquial language added in to show the different turns of phrase.


The ending was almost too perfect, pulling everything together in a neat bow but I am a sucker for these endings so I could hardly complain. I was left satisfied with everything that happened and not left wanting which I can appreciate.


Overall I really loved this book and thought it was such a cute summer read to break up the bad weather here in the UK. I would most defiantly recommend picking up this book and checking it out to see for yourself what amazing writing it has.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page