top of page

'Leave it all behind' - Sleeping with sirens song and video review

Leave is all behind is the new single from Sleeping with sires upcoming album 'how it feels to be lost', out everywhere September 6th. I've been a long standing fan of this band for a while know and I couldn't be happier that they're bringing out a new album so soon.


When listening to the song for the first time my entail thought was that it sounded like old, more hard rock sleeping with sirens from before their latest album 'gossip' which came out in 2017 and was a lot less rock then their previous albums. This new track makes it seem as though they're going back to their roots with 'how it feels to be lost' which I'm super exited about and makes the album even more anticipated for me.


They're back and my little emo heart can't take it, the instant nostalgia from the base line in the beginning had me captivated from the start and I knew that this song wasn't going to disappoint. It defiantly didn't.


The lyrics are about giving up and going to the other side, but like all sleeping with sirens songs that deal with these issues they give a way out, an escape especially with such hard-hitting lyrics like

"If you feel like letting go, I'll be your hope when you are hopeless, Together we are not alone, You're not alone"

that show people that there are other ways out and that it's not the only answer. Even if you don't like the music I urge everyone to just read the lyrics because they're so beautiful and may be exactly what you need.

A stunning music video also accompanied the song witch of course fit so well and made perfect sense for the lyrics and style of the song. Mirrors were used throughout in beautifully thought through shots that I almost couldn't believe, partnered with the canted angles and slow motion the perfect blend was created and a whole new dimension was added to the song.


While watching I came up with a whole theory in my head, which I do when watching videos like this and I just love thinking about what every single thing could mean. But maybe that's just the media student in me over analysing.


Overall, as you can probably tell I'm super happy that they're back and making new music and that its more of what I love from them. You can watch the new video on their YouTube channel and pre-order the new album here which comes out September 6th.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page