top of page

Isn't it romantic review

Updated: Mar 19, 2019

Isn't it romantic is about a young woman Natalie (Rebel Wilson) who hates the idea of love and soul mates who finds herself trapped in a romantic comedy after hitting her head in the subway. I loved this whole concept and the idea of a romantic comedy allowing for these tropes to be made fun of while still being funny and enjoyable.


The exposition was done well and did everything that's expected with this sort of 'switched' film, we saw all the characters in the beginning equilibrium so that they can be compared to those during the disequilibrium which creates a well-placed contrast. This was also important because we got to see that Josh (Adam Devine) didn't change after the switch and instantly knew his role as the inevitable love interest.


As in all the films I've seen with her, Rebel Wilson played a hilariously amazing character that's instantly easy to fall in love with and I couldn't help myself rooting for her. Her chemistry with Adam Devine is undeniable and I've loved them as a pairing since Pitch Perfect and hope that they work together in the future. Which I'm sure they will. It was also nice to see Liam Hemsworth (Blake) as I haven't seen him in anything for a while. Although true his perfect and handsome character in the 'romantic world' wore thin fast and he just became obnoxious which I understand was the intention and was played well by him.


A simple story line was created with an easy to follow plot which didn't have anything to over complicate or confusing which I appreciated and was allowed to enjoy it for its lighthearted jokes and themes. The colouration differences between the 2 'worlds' was done well and I enjoyed seeing how everything changed between the two. I thought it was interesting to see the city through her eyes as she also noticed the subtle differences before learning she was in a romantic comedy.


The ending was perfect even though from the beginning we knew how it was going to turn out. I through it was great that they added the idea of self-love too; allowing her to understand that she needed to love herself before she could allow herself to be loved and love in return. I couldn't help myself to smile at the relationship in the end and how utterly cute and perfect it was.


So overall, I think it was very cute and did its job of making fun of classic romance tropes while still feeling like a romantic comedy itself. It's an easy watch and I recommenced it to anyone who enjoys lighthearted films which passes the time pleasantly.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page